I strongly espouse that women coming forward will provide the impetus to holistic progress of the society

Amrita K- PicAmrita K.

I always had a wish to work in Bihar for the people with the people. But, after completing MBA I had been wandering on to Hyderabad and then Mumbai. It was the last day of application when I had come to know about PMRDF scheme through a friend. I came to know that this scheme is for poorer districts of the country and I will get a chance to work in Bihar. Prior to PMRDF, I used to think that I will run an NGO with devotion towards people centric development. Fortunately, I am a PMRDF today and trying to do whatever little I can to provide an impetus to development.

The people in the villages have great ideas and they know how to utilize the available resources. I see this when they use even an empty water bottle as a funnel for irrigation. There is a big bundle of such little and big innovations all across. These people have always been an inspiration for me, especially the women. I have seen pregnant lady laborers working till the due date of delivery to eke out a living. As a PMRDF, I could realize their pain and strength upon going through the same stage in my life. I have decided to work for betterment of health facilities and alleviate the conditions of mothers and their newborns.

In Gaya district, I have been instrumental in conceptualization and implementation of various new ideas under IAP fund like installation of smokeless chulhas in aanganwadi centres and for mid day meal in primary and middle schools, installation of solar charging station in Kasturba Gandhi Balika Vidyalayas, libraries at block level with availability of periodicals, books and magazines. Further work to provide coaching facilities for meritorious students from poor families for different competitive exams is in progress.  I believe providing a skill is providing the means of empowerment – then he/she can step further to eke out a living. Various skill development initiatives have been undertaken with the funding from different schemes in the district.

I believe schemes like MGNREGA is indeed a great means to check distress migration. In the district, several steps to increase the information reach and people participation are being taken for this.

Being a PMRDF has given me an opportunity to be close with these people, to learn from them and to work with them. My experience of four years with corporate world and the knowledge earned therefrom, has supported in becoming an often sought after member of the district team. I am still a fresher when it comes to learning new things and have an urge to drive social transformation with poverty reduction.

********

Amrita K is based at Gaya (Bihar). She is a B.Sc. (Agriculture) from Govind Ballabh Pant University of Agriculture & Technology, Pantnagar and a PGDM with specialization in Agri Business Management from VAMNICOM, Pune. Amrita started with a field job in a public sector bank and then worked with Karvy Comtrade Ltd. While with Mahindra & Mahindra Limited, she was instrumental in the conception and launch of Mahindra Samriddhi India Agri Awards. She shares the glory of winning “Zee Business Award for Best Fundamental Analyst 2009” and “Golden Peacock Innovation Award 2010” with Karvy Comtrade Ltd and Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd respectively.

2 thoughts on “I strongly espouse that women coming forward will provide the impetus to holistic progress of the society

Leave a Reply

