“My engagement with CAPART to work with different social groups has sharpened my ability to understand and react to the dynamics and background of the socio-political aspects”

Shailja Tigga                              Image

I started my career with CAPART as a Young Professional. Through my course of work with TATA steel Corporate Sustainability Services (CSR), I found that Primitive Tribe Groups (PTGs) are in the most vulnerable situation, say for education, health or livelihood etc. There I got an ample space and opportunity to work and manage the education projects at grassroots level.

PTGs are forest dwellers and dependent on forest produce. They have less access to market and to cities therefore face a lot of difficulties for daily necessary amenities like health facilities, clean drinking water, sufficient food etc. Through my survey, I found that there are approximately 1,000 PTG dwellers with around 6-7 dependent children in a family. Lack of proper information has made a big development gap among PTGs and development, so I started to work on education with them as target beneficiaries groups.

After rural field immersion, I started making proposal on Residential Education for PTGs children. Finally, the budget was approved by TATA Steel but it was very difficult for me to bring them on stream line. I struggled a lot to convince parents to send their children to residential school. Eventually parents agreed to send their children to residential schools, I with my team, brought them to TATANAGAR and we provided necessary logistics and school fees as instructed by the hostel. Finally 10 PTG children were enrolled in Residential School Holy Cross, Berada, Chouka.

My special thanks to CAPART for giving me a platform to work with Tribal Cultural Society, Tata Steel CSR to bring a small change through my initiative among the Primitive Tribe Groups (PTGs). My engagement with the organization with different social groups has sharpened my ability to understand and react to the dynamics and background of the socio-political aspects.

**************

Shailja Tigga is based at Latehar in Jharkhand. She has a Post Graduation Diploma in Rural Development (PGDRD) from Xavier Institute of Social Service (XISS), Ranchi. Shailja worked for three years in the rural development sector before joining the PMRDF.

Leave a Reply

